Out with the old, In with the new…

The beginning of a new journey

Well I finally did it!! I finally graduated.  This has been a long and mentally draining road trip.  I was so bogged down with assignments, projects, exams,  and not to mention my domestic responsibilities; that my blogging activity became more of a chore and I in turn neglected my passion for writing.

1Gradpic2013

I have learned so much about myself, my family, true friends, and even my enemies (bka frenemies).  In my Technical Communication class I took on a leadership role for a major project (which I was terrified about at first).  I had no idea how my team members would perceive me.  I mean, would they accept me? Would they respect me as their Team Lead?  I was too close to graduation to deal with any unnecessary drama.  However, it turns out I am much better at delegating and coordinating tasks/events than I  thought.  I got excellent reviews from my team and my professor about my leadership skills.

AMBER1

With that said I have decided to begin my new journey helping others.

Aristotle once said, “We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence is not an act, but a habit.”

I have learned a great deal about the art of personal branding and what it takes to achieve excellence from my professors at UNT.

degree

Here are the top three lessons that I learned from my classes and life:

  1.  Anything worth having is worth working hard for.
  2. Networking is the foundation for building a solid career.
  3. Discovering what you are most passionate about will make your career more worthwhile and fulfilling.

My appetite for writing has been my driving force behind every course I have taken throughout my college career.  One of my favorite quotes comes from:

Ernest Hemingway, “…the writer must write what he has to say, not to speak it…”

I believe in this statement because I live it.   I am a master in the written and spoken word.

As a technical writer, my highest goal is to achieve excellence in every grant, manual,  website, novel or poem I create and/or edit. Through my professional and academic experience I have also learned to develop, communicate and add processes that cut redundancy, improve accuracy and meet organizational objectives.  I now plan on using these same skills to help people meet their personal and career goals.

I must admit I don’t know where or how to begin this journey and I’m a little apprehensive and nervous, but just as God was there with me along my road trip to graduation; He will guide and direct me thru my next journey in life.

So fasten your seat belts, I have a feeling it’s going to be an interesting ride!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

